The News Pit

Thursday, 6th August 2020

European Union to reopen its borders to 14 countries

By Preeti Soodan Devgan -
  • Updated
  • :
  • 2nd July 2020,
  • 8:28 PM

After closing down its borders due to Covid-19, the European Union is slowly opening up its borders to 14 countries.

European government has decided to open borders after lockdown during the coronavirus pandemic. As, the summer holiday season is approaching. So, people are wondering that will they be able to go abroad and how far they can go? Each European country has put some limitations and its own rules while decided to reopen its border.

The European union has decided to open its external borders for 15 countries from July 1. These countries are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay.

Also Read: Assam: Health Minister Himanta Biswa Sharma says Plasma Bank to be set up in Guwahati

1. It is mandatory for all the passengers at all terminals to pass through “disinfection tunnel”.
2. They has to check through ‘body temperature measurement’.

1. It is mandatory for the people arriving in Australia that they has to produce medical certificate proving a negative result of covid-19 test.
2. Restriction on the entry of citizens outside Schengen area.

1. No condition of current time for health certificate there.
2. travel outside European union and Schengen countries are prohibited until July 1.

1. Todays has to submit self declaration acknowledgement of their well-being and with the risk associated with covid-19 to health inspector at the border.

Czech Republic
1. It has also put some restrictions and has divided European Union countries into two colour group as per risk factor: green, orange, red and yellow.
Green zone countries are eastern and Baltic member states, Finland and Norway. They can travel without any requirements.
2. In yellow group includes France, Italy and Spain. They need to produce health certificate.
3. People entering from UK and Sweden are put in red zone and for them test and Quarantine and conditions will apply.

Similarly, conditions and restrictions are placed for countries like Bosnia, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom.

To get more information about its restrictions and mandatory conditions, one can check the complete and comprehensive information and to get guidance on the official website at or on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *