The News Pit

Tuesday, 26th October 2021

IPL 2020: Everything You Need To Know About The 13th Edition Of The League

By Nandani Todi -
  • Updated
  • :
  • 19th September 2020,
  • 9:38 PM

2020 IPL will be little different as in no spectators are allowed due to pandemic COVID-19. MI and CSK will be doing the opening of the league.

The wait is over for the die hard cricket fans as the 6 month long league is to start by today in UAE for the second time. The defending champions Chennai super kings and Mumbai Indians are clashing each other as the opening tiltle.

This year since, the pandemic has effected worse, so we may miss the spectators in the stadium for the thirteenth edition of IPL. Therefore, all the matches will be played thereby following all the social distancing norms during their training, lodging and at the time of the tournament.

Most Read: IPL 2020: Know The Rules, Regulations, Streaming Partners And More!

Let’s brief the basics as in the teams, format, venues and match timings for 13th edition of the IPL.
Duration: The 13th edition of the IPL will be played from September 19 to November 10. The grand finale of IPL 13 is scheduled on November 10.
Teams: Reportedly in the 13th edition of IPL there will be eight teams who are competing against each other in a round robin format.

The eight teams are Mumbai Indians (MI), Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Kings Eleven Punjab (KXIP), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) , Rajasthan Royals (RR), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) , Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Delhi Capitals (DC).

Venues: This edition will be played in three venues in the UAE namely Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Dubai’s International cricket stadium and Sharjah’s cricket stadiumand for all 56 matches to be contested between the eight teams. However, a total of 24 matches will be held in Dubai, 20 in Abu Dhabi and 12 in Sharjah.

Timings: The match will start in the evening at 7.30 PM IST start (6:00 pm UAE time). This season, only 10 contests will be in afternoon at 15.30 PM IST (14.00 UAE time) as the league will only have 10 doubleheaders.

Format: The top four teams based on their respective points won during the league stage will qualify for the play-offs. Afterwards, the top two teams will play against each other in the first playoff match, the winner would qualify for the finals while the loser would get another chance. They would play the winner of the eliminator, which will be played between the third and fourth teams in the points table, for a place in the finals.

Most Read: IPL 2020: Five First-Timers To Watch Out For

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *