The News Pit

Tuesday, 21st May 2024

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Kangana Ranaut, Ex-Calcutta HC Judge Named In BJP’s 5th List Of Candidates

By TNP Digital Desk -
  • Updated
  • :
  • 25th March 2024,
  • 2:15 AM

According to the list, Kangana Ranaut is slated to contest from the Mandi constituency in Himachal Pradesh.

Kangana Ranaut

Kangana Ranaut to contest from Mandi

Kangana Ranaut has bagged a ticket to contest in the Lok Sabha Elections 2024. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has unveiled its fifth list comprising 111 candidates across 16 states for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Among the fresh candidates are Bollywood actor Kangana Ranaut and former Calcutta High Court Justice Abhijit Gangopadhyay.

According to the list, Kangana Ranaut is slated to contest from the Mandi constituency in Himachal Pradesh, while the ex-judge will vie for the Tamluk seat in West Bengal. Notably, Union ministers Ashwini Kumar Choubey and V K Singh, along with MP Varun Gandhi have been left out of the BJP candidates’ list.

The 111 candidates named in the list have been nominated to contest from Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan, Goa, Gujarat, West Bengal, Telangana, Sikkim, Odisha, Mizoram, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Jharkhand, and Himachal Pradesh.

Meanwhile, actor Kangana has expressed her gratitude towards BJP in a post on the platform ‘X’ formerly known as Twitter.

Here’s what she said in her post, “My beloved Bharat and Bhartiya Janta’s own party, Bharatiya Janta party ( BJP) has always had my unconditional support, today the national leadership of BJP has announced me as their Loksabha candidate from my birth place Himachal Pradesh, Mandi (constituency) I abide by the high command’s decision on contesting Loksabha polls. I feel honoured and elated to officially join the party. I look forward to be a worthy karyakarta and a reliable public servant. Thanks.”

For those unaware, in the 2021 by-elections, Congress candidate Pratibha Singh secured victory in the Mandi parliamentary seat, benefiting from the sympathy wave following the passing of ex Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh.

Note: This content has been curated with the help of OpenAI.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *